The Civil Engineers' Club
Institution of Civil Engineers


Many of the Regions and Branches of the Institution run social and competitive golf during the year. However, The Thomas Telford Trophy is the highlight of the Golf Section year – it is an annual competition between teams of four players from each of the Regions/Branches of the Institution. The first Thomas Telford Trophy was held at Wentworth Golf Club in 1986, when Sir William Francis, then chairman of the Civil Engineers’ Club and of Thomas Telford Ltd, presented the cup to the winning Yorkshire team.

ICE London Region had the privilege of hosting the 35th Thomas Telford Trophy at West Hill Golf Club on 5th and 6th September 2021. It was a particular pleasure to welcome the players to West Hill after the enforced cancellation in 2020 due to Covid-19.

The team from Northern Ireland (Stuart McQueen, Edward Bill, Jonny McIlwaine and Ben Adair) rose to the challenge of West Hill with excellent scores in each round and won the Thomas Telford Trophy with a total of 226 points.

For a report of the day please click on the link below.

Golf Report for 2021


West of Scotland will now be hosting TTT2022 at Glasgow Gailes Golf Club on 28th and 29 August 2022 as detailed on the (revised) flyer:

TTT 2022 flyer_Final

For details of your Region/Branch Team Organiser contact the Golf Secretary:

Martyn Taylor

Tel: (01444) 484306
Email: [email protected]

A full list of previous venues and winners is as follows:-

Date – Venue – Winning Region/Local Association

2021 West Hill – Northern Ireland

2020  Not played – Covid-19

2019  Hilton Templepatrick – North East

2018  Hollinwell – North East

2017  Pannal – Northern Ireland

2016  Hillside – Northern Ireland

2015  Forest of Arden – North East

2014  Gullane – North East

2013  Royal Cinque Ports – West Midlands

2012  Remedy Oak – West of Scotland

2011  Western Gailes – South East

2010  Slaley Hall – North East

2009  Twenty Ten, Celtic Manor – North East

2008  Royal Ashdown Forest – North East

2007  Royal Portrush – Northern Ireland

2006  Moor Allerton – London

2005  Woodhall Spa – East Midlands

2004  Moor Park – Yorkshire

2003  Royal St. Georges – East Midlands

2002  Blairgowrie – North Western

2001  Prestwick – Glasgow & West of Scotland

2000  Gog Magog – Edinburgh & East of Scotland

1999  Bowood – Glasgow & West of Scotland

1998  Ganton – North Western

1997  Royal Birkdale – Yorkshire

1996  Brancepeth Castle – Yorkshire

1995  East Sussex National – North Western

1994  Dalmahoy – London

1993  Betchworth – Southern

1992  Royal Porthcawl – Edinburgh & East of Scotland

1991  Royal Portrush – South Wales

1990  Walsall – Midlands

1989  Royal Troon – Midlands

1988  Royal Lytham & St. Annes – North Western

1987  Moortown – North Western

1986  Wentworth – Yorkshire