Report of the Brunel Trophy Contract Bridge competition 2024

The Brunel Trophy competition as organised by the Civil Engineers' Club was held again on 18 October 2024, in the Council Room at the Institution of Civil Engineers.

The trophy has been contested every year since 1990. A total of ten teams entered this year and the Bridge was, as always, both friendly and competitive.



The Brunel Trophy

The winning team with 112 VPs consisted of Liz Clery (captain) and Jonathan Jacobs, Tony Verran and Brian Gladman.

The runners-up were a team captained by Martin Baker, with Andrew MacAlister, Graham Horscroft and Mike Fletcher with 62 VP's.

Third was Ned Paul's team of himself and Kath Stynes, with John Pemberton and Richard Creamer with 29 VP's.

At the end the Civil Engineers' Club Contract Bridge Secretary Peter Richardson presented the Brunel Trophy cut glass rose bowl to the winning team captain Liz Clery and a glass tumbler to each team member.

For a photo of the winners with the Brunel Trophy and a summary of the results see below. For the full results visit the Bridgewebs website at:

https://www.bridgewebs.com/cgi-bin/bwor/bw.cgi?pid=display_rank&event=20241018_1&club=brian Thanks are due to Victor Lesk the Tournament Director who oversaw proceedings throughout. He performed his task most efficiently and kept the event to time.

Thanks are due also to all the players- everyone contributed to the day, playing as always in a friendly fashion throughout.

In the evening an enjoyable dinner was eaten in the nearby Bistro1 restaurant in Soho. The restaurant has a wide selection and always makes us welcome.

Peter Richardson Honorary Contract Bridge Secretary, Civil Engineers' Club email <u>secretarycivilengineersclub@gmail.com</u>



The winning team (left to right): Brian Gladman, Tony Verran, Liz Clery (captain) and Brian Gladman.

Brunel Trophy results 2024

| 1 | Clery | Jonathan Jacobs & Liz Clery Tony Verran & Brian Gladman | +112 |
|----|----------------|---|------|
| 2 | Baker | Martin Baker & Andrew MacAlister Graham Horscroft & Mike Fletcher | +62 |
| 3 | Paul | Ned Paul & Kath Stynes John Pemberton & Richard Creamer | +29 |
| 4 | Barnett | Ken Barnett & Chantal Girardin John Bernard & Nigel Stuttard | +21 |
| 5 | Kent | Susanne Walsh & Steve Ripley Chris Gray & John Beamish | -10 |
| 6 | Gray Diamond | Gerry Weston & Gary Diamond Catherine Rice-Evans & Rex Goad | -23 |
| 7 | Hecht-Johansen | Alex Hannon & Gitte Hecht-Johansen Szczepan Smoczynski & Mary Gordon-Smith | -27 |
| 8 | Agarwal | Mike Bull & Stefanie Rohan Abhoy Agarwal & James Foster | -44 |
| 9 | Mushrooms | Bill Linton & Tim Pelling Naomi Cohen & Andrew Clery | -58 |
| 10 | Richardson | Trevor Wilkinson & John Walker Peter Richardson & Anil Bhandari | -62 |