## Report of the Brunel Trophy Contract Bridge competition 2014

The 25<sup>th</sup> Brunel Trophy competition was held during the day on 10 October 2014 in the Palmer Room at the Institution of Civil Engineers. A total of eleven teams entered and the Bridge was, as always, both friendly and competitive.

The result was a close win for the Grey Diamond team over the Civilians, by 105 to 99 Imp's. The winning team members were Rex Goad, Catherine Rice-Evans, Paul Thornton and Gerry Weston. Last year they were a close second, so it shows that persistence pays off in the Brunel!

The runners-up were the Civilians team, comprising John Barnard, Nigel Stuttard, Mike Bull and Graham Horscroft. For a full results list see the next page.

At the end of the afternoon session Ken Smith who is the ICE Council member for London presented the Brunel Trophy cut glass rose bowl to the winners, together with a glass tumbler to each member of the winning team. Congratulations are due to them and also to all the other players who contributed to the day.

Ken Smith also took the opportunity to present glass tumblers to four other players in recognition of the fact that they had played in nearly all the Brunel competitions to date. They were John Beamish, Tim Pelling, John Walker (from Maidstone) and John Walker (from Kent). Although the two Walkers are not related they have often partnered each other at the Brunel.

Thanks are also due to Nicole Cook the Tournament Director who was in charge of proceedings throughout. She performed her task with her customary efficiency and good humour and kept the event going smoothly and to time. The final results are summarised below.

In the evening a dinner was taken in the nearby Bistro1 restaurant in Covent Garden. There were 29 diners which included friends as well. The restaurant has a wide selection and always makes us welcome. We have dined there in the most recent years and again everyone enjoyed the meal.

A photo of the winners with Ken Smith and other photos taken during the dinner are shown below.

The date of next year's event will be circulated in the new year. It will be held again at the Institution of Civil Engineers, 1 Great George St, SW1P 3AA. If you are interested in playing please contact me even if you don't have a team or a partner- if you let me know early enough I can usually find others to make up a team.

## Peter Richardson

Honorary Contract Bridge Secretary Civil Engineers' Club Telephone (H) 020-8531-8860 (Mob) 0770-390-7283 email peter.c.richardson@btinternet.com

The Brunel Trophy

## **Brunel Trophy final results, 10 October 2014**

| Rank | Team | Names   | IMPs | 1 |
|------|------|---|------|---|
| 1    | 6    | Gray Diamond  | 105  | - |
|      |      | Paul Thornton, Gerry Weston, Rex Goad, Catherine Rice-Evans               |      |   |
| 2    | 8    | Civilians   | 99   |   |
|      |      | Graham Horscroft, Mike Bull, John Barnard, Nigel Stuttard                 |      |   |
| 3    | 5    | Trouble   | 97   |   |
|      |      | Gitte Hecht-Johansen, Anne Rouach, Mary Gordon-Smith, Szczepan Smoczynski | _    |   |
| 4    | 3    | Mushrooms   | 22   |   |
|      |      | Bill Linton, Tim Pelling, Sati McKenzie, Robert Balchin                   |      |   |
| 5    | 2    | Isambard  | 13   |   |
|      |      | John Beamish, Peter Richardson, John Stimson, Martin Baker                |      |   |
| 6    | 11   | Lemmings  | -1   |   |
|      |      | Richard Sissons, Jenny Kendall, John Walker, Alex Gibb                    |      |   |
| 7    | 10   | Equus   | -26  |   |
|      |      | Naomi Cohen, Ken Barnett, Lis Bingham, Andy Clery                         |      |   |
| 8    | 1    | CLPT  | -27  |   |
|      |      | Tim Chanter, Clarke Pitts, Lars McBride, Paul Spence                      |      |   |
| 9    | 9    | Asim  | -45  |   |
|      |      | Abhoy Agarwal, Indra Setha, Goal Srinivas, Asim Chugtai                   |      |   |
| 10   | 7    | Feenix  | -114 |   |
|      |      | Gwilym Jones, Alice Webster, Duncan Hyde, Russell Calderwood              |      |   |
| 11   | 4    | Lemmings Two  | -123 |   |
|      |      | John Walker, Trevor Wilkinson, Elsa Nelson, Roy Cooper                    |      |   |



The winning Grey Diamond team from left to right: Rex Goad, Gerry Weston, Ken Smith (ICE Council member for London), Catherine Rice-Evans and Paul Thornton



(Left to right) John Walker and Alex Gibb



(Left to right) Anne Rouach, Gitte Hecht-Johansen, Nicole Cook (Tournament Director) and Mary Gordon-Smith



(Left to right) Russell Calderwood and Duncan Hyder



(Left to right) Andy Clery and Ken Barnett



(Left to right) John Beamish and Gopal Srinivas



(Left to right) Jenny Kendall and Richard Sissons



(Left to right) Jacqui Wilkinson, John Walker, Helen Walker and John Beamish



(Left to right) Elsa Nelson and Roy Cooper